On the occasion of the 135th anniversary of the Boris Garden in Sofia an exhibition was unveiled with black-and-white photos showing how the park changed from early 20 c. to the present day. The 28 archival photos have been arranged in the Crystal Park in the central part of Sofia. They have Bulgarian and English captions and will remain on display by mid-October. Originally the park was named The Nursery Garden, because it provided material for landscaping in Sofia. After that the park’s name changed several times – to Tsarigrad Garden (referring to Tsartigrad, the Bulgarian name used to denote Constantinople), Knyaz Boris Garden (when the future Bulgarian Tsar Boris III was still prince/knyaz) and during communism The Park of Freedom. Today Boris Garden is an epitome of landscaping art. It sports a few old and emblematic sites – the Lake with the Lilies, the Open Reading Room, the University Observatory as well as the Children’s Playground with the stone elephant and the turtle that many generations of Sofia residents have enjoyed as children.
The fighting for Sofia within the framework of the Russo-Turkish War (1877-1878) began on December 25, 1877. On January 3, 1878, the city's commandant Osman Nuri Pasha began to withdraw from Sofia. His plans to set the city on fire were thwarted..
In its latest digital section “Buildings Tell a Story”, the Regional History Museum – Sofia presents the stories of iconic buildings in the center of the Bulgarian capital city, as well as of the people who once lived in them. The video initiative..
T he Supreme Court of Cassation has given final judgement that the Bulgarian Orthodox Old Calendar Church must be registered in the register of religious denominations. This isthe first time a second Orthodox church will be registered, the..
Priest Lyubomir Bratoev is a direct participant in the events of t he founding of the Bulgarian Orthodox Church community in Berlin . He came to the..
+359 2 9336 661